Ibadan school inaugurates Think-Tank Group

 In Activities, Think Tank

THE  Ibadan School of Government and Public Policy (ISGPP) has inaugurated its multi-disciplinary Technical Core Think Tank.

The group, which has 25 members, was inaugurated yesterday at the school’s board room in Bodija, Ibadan.

The think-tank is made up of experts on governance, media, institutional reform, macroeconomics, energy economics, trade and tariff policy, demography, social statistics and local government and rural development.

Others include legal reforms and jurisprudence, science and technology policy, crime, criminality and security, foreign policy, labour and industrial relations, education, youth activism, gender, ICT, spirituality, religion and ethics, entrepreneurship, business and investment analysis, banking and finance, among others.

Inaugurating the body, the school’s Executive Vice Chairman, Dr. Tunji Olaopa, explained the mission of the school was to rethink the governance space in Nigeria and Africa, so as to “get government to work better”.

According to him, in this era of change when the nation is seeking to migrate from the bad policies of the past, the school, which he said is research-driven, will mobilise expertise to get those in government to perform optimally.

Dr. Olaopa said the aim of the school was to grow to become a national think-tank and resource centre for policy-makers.

He said that the think-tank was at two difference levels, one with Professor Akin Mabogunje as chairman and the other which was being inaugurated.

The technical core group is made up of such scholars and practitioners as Professor CBN Ogbogbo of the Department of History, University of Ibadan; Professor Ayo Olukotun, Dr. Stephen Lawani, Dr. Festus Adedayo, Dr. Omo Aregbeyen of the Department of Economics, University of Ibadan, Dr. Adesina Afolayan of the Department of Philosophy of the same university, Dr. Akeem Amodu of the Lead City University and others.