Ibadan school inaugurates public policy group

 In Activities, Public Policy Group

THE Ibadan School of Government and Public Policy (ISGPP) yesterday inaugurated its Public Policy Group (PPG), a think-tank that will serve as the flagship of the institution in delivering innovation in public policy growth.

The PPG is a multi-disciplinary group that drew experts from all areas of development to analyse, evaluate and monitor existing policies with a view to generating better ideas for the country’s policy architecture.

Inaugurating the group, the ISGPP Executive Vice Chairman, Dr. Tunji Olaopa, explained that democratic governance is founded on right commitment to policy articulation, formulation and implementation backed by the weight of the state’s administrative apparatuses.

But he lamented that Nigeria’s democratic credential is undermined by a serious growth deficit marked by high unemployment rate, bad infrastructural base, high crime rate, low literacy, very low human development statistics, galloping poverty level and insurgency, among others.

He added that the new group would serve as a think-tank in the mould of the Brooklyn Institution, American Enterprise Institute, Lee Kwan Yew School of Public Policy and Adam Smith Institute among others.

Addressing the new group, the ISGPP Board Chairman, Prof. Akin Mabogunje, hailed members for accepting the invitation to serve.

Mabogunje said the group was established at a time when the country desperately needs their contributions, pointing out the need for government and stakeholders in the socio-economic development to prioritise on areas requiring urgent attention for policy growth and articulation.

Chairman of the group, Prof. Ademola Oyejide, listed research groups and sub-groups under which members will work as including governance, politics and public integrity; fiscal federalism; exploitation of natural resources; national security and defence.

Others are education, science and technology; economic growth; management of economic fluctuations; social growth; climate and environment and international affairs.

Members of the group include Prof. John Ayoade, Prof. Bayo Okunade, Prof. Pai Obanya, Dr. Funke Fayehun, Ambassador Ayo Olukanni, Prof. Ayo Olukotun, Mr Ayo Ojebode, Mr Felix Adenaike, Mr Edmond Obilo, Dr Stephen Lawani, Prof. M. K. Yahaya, Prof. C. B. N. Ogbogbo and Prof. Charles Uwadia.